Who’s ready for this!?

Okay, so I’m slacking on my posts, but who expected anything else?

A bit has happened since I last updated you (Mom). Went to an All Volunteer Conference (where, interestingly enough, I DID NOT meet all of the volunteers in Namibia), had a birthday, got a dental check-up, facilitated a workshop and avoided laundry.

So we’re starting from the top…AVC was…interesting. Tons of info on Malaria and Grassroots Soccer (awesome program, FYI. Find ’em donate money, send me jerseys, what ‘evs). That whole shebang was held in the capital, so needless to say there were too many people and I suffered a debilitating melt-down that resulted in excess chocolate-mousse eating.

Next was my birthday. For some reason I thought the big 2-4 already zipped by me but apparently not…so that was a moment of “whoops.” But at least all of my profile are now on track. I got lots of hugs and presents. There were four (FOUR) packages waiting for me when i returned home and all contained chocolate. Good job, guys. You will receive payment in hugs and knitted newspaper items.

Following the Capital Party (haha, that’s the limit of my puns, no worries) I got my mid-service medical/dental check-up. AND THERE WERE NO CAVITIES. Personally, I think the dentist is blind and crazy, since I have the worst teeth in the history of worst teeth. But it all worked out well since I had to go from that appointment to my friend’s site in the north and facilitate a workshop with her sewing and wielding groups!

(Inserting picture… TA DAH!!)

Workshop, Khorixas, 2013
Workshop, Khorixas, 2013

They were absolutely amazing to work with and this photo doesn’t even show everyone… I don’t think. But we covered everything from the business and marketing/advertising aspect of a co-operation to the actual products they could make! Things like plastic bag-bags and earrings made from bottles. We really got into it. It was like finding the Namibian version of me over and over again!

But now I’m home, setting up school groups and prepping my counterparts to teach an after school program. We get to travel out to Kalkrand tomorrow and work with  a Living Positively support group. It’s going to be interesting and fun!

 

Hugs to people I know and awkward hand pats to the stranger-stalkers! Holla!

Leave a Reply

